My story for you (pelo Dada D.)

“The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind a faithful servant. We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift.” Albert Einstein

The Seven Wonders of the World

A group of students were asked to list what they thought were the Seven Wonders of the World. Though there were some disagreements, the following received the most votes:

  • Egypts Great Pyramids
  • The Taj Mahal
  • The Grand Canyon
  • The Panama Canal
  • The Empire State Building
  • St Peters Basilica
  • The Great Wall of China

While gathering the votes, the teacher noticed that one student had not finished her page yet, so she asked the girl if she was having trouble with her list.

The girl replied “Yes, a little. I couldn’t quite make up my mind because there are so many.” The teacher said “well, tell us what you have, and maybe we can help you.” The girl hesitated and then read: “I think the Seven Wonders of the World are:

  • To See
  • To Hear
  • To Touch
  • To Taste
  • To Feel
  • To Laugh
  • To Love

The room was so quiet you could hear a pin drop. The things we overlook as simple and ordinary and that we take for granted are truly wondrous! A gentle reminder – that the most precious things in life cannot be built by hand or bought by man (and truly, are a gift from God).

My story in Brazil on 3rd of Feb 2012

It was the second day of police strike in the city ….This created a great fiesta for the crooks to loot, rob, hijacking of cars on the streets and killing 54 persons were shot dead by Saturday (by grace I was not the 55th). :)

We were waiting in a Hospital which was the meeting point for students to arrive, So we could all travel together to the retreat place about 45 minutes drive away. Instead of chatting and “killing” time I decided to do some work on my computer, writing some recipes for my cooking book. 

I was sitting at the reception room by the entrance door and there were several people sitting and standing around the room. While writing, a young man dangling a gun on his left arm came to me and very slowly pushed my computer screen down and placed the gun on my fore head.

He said: “this is a robbery, don’t move.” I could sense that he was very nervous. It’s more dangerous to deal with nervous robbers than experienced robbers who know what they are doing.

My first thought was: “is this a plastic or a real gun he is pointing to my head?” The second thought was: “all my work is going to be lost if don’t do anything” as there were two other gun men there. My Aikido master once told me “Don’t engage yourself when they have a gun or a knife and you are with other people.

So, I did not do anything to overpower the guy who held the gun to my head. This could have caused serious harm to someone in the group. So I thought to let go of my computer. I would regret more if someone got shot because of my actions.

After they left with my computer bag with all my personal things I was really angry for a few minutes. Than I had to refocus on the present situation… we were all alive and no one was hurt – that was most important … My work I can recover and the machine can be bought again. I had to console one sister who was in a state of shock after the incident, which happened in only 10 minutes!

Well I am glad to be alive and am happy that you are reading this story. Because, you know, live is very short and we cannot be wasting our precious time lingering in the past. This is my 13th experience with death. I have not stopped doing what I wanted to do which is to continuing inspiring people to better their lives.

What happened in Salvador Bahia is a daily affair: killing, robberies, hijacking…because it does not happen to us we take things for granted. Life is precious, so use your time here fully to develop yourself and grow.

By Sunday 87 people had been shot dead; by Monday it was 103 and by Tuesday it was already 127! Some of you must have heard it or read it in the news.

We have to make our world a better place. Live in the present. Don’t let yourself feel guilty, if you have done something wrong, realize your mistakes, ask for forgiveness and move on. Remember the story above – when you feel guilty you live in fear.

Lastly I have a personal request for all of you: if you can help in any way to contribute for me to get a new computer to continue my work…We are all in some way dependent on machines and so am I. If you would like to help me please send me an email.

Lots of love…it’s the most powerful force in the universe. Stay connected!

 

“You were born an original, don’t die as a copy” John Mason

Dada

Deixe um comentário

